“Wine [is] a constant proof that God loves us, and loves to see us happy.”

Yes. Benjamin Franklin was right. I don’t know a single person in my life who doesn’t like wine. Not to mention all of my friends who love wine. All of them are wine enthusiasts who would never say “no” to a glass of wine.

bure s grozde wallpaper

I decided to join this year’s Boston Wine Expo (02/13-02/14) because of my unconditional love to wine. I always want to learn more, try more wines, meet other wine lovers and share this experience later with you. I have to tell you that everyone who was involved in this event did a great job. Unfortunately, I couldn’t be at more than one place at the same time (there were different options-Grand Tasting, Chef demonstrations, exhibits,seminars etc.), so I chose the Grand Tasting.

As I walked into the Grand Tasting, I received a beautiful glass with the logo of Boston Wine Expo 2016 which allowed me to try so many wines. Boston Wine Expo 2016 was pouring over 1,800 wines from 200 wineries from around the world for two days.

boston wine expo glass

The event took place at Seaport Hotel and World Trade Center, Boston, which allowed thousand of people to participate in trying wines and amazing food from some of the  Boston’s best restaurants.

today tastings

First, I started with wines from Germany. There is no doubt the best riesling wines come from Austria and Germany.

RELAX wines with 4 choices: Riesling, Cool Red, Pinot Grigio and Pink

RELAX Riesling was my favorite. It’s refreshing and crisp with citrus hints. Great pairing with salads and seafood. RELAX Riesling is going to be my summer go-to wine.

relax blue bottles

The pink version of these wines was great too. If you like rosé, you should definitely try this light, fruity Spanish rosé. Notes of strawberries, raspberries with  soft, crisp finish.

pouring riesling rose

Spanish wines always have something special about them that make You feel special when you drink them. So my next stop was “Wines from Rioja”.

rioja table

Rioja used to be called “vin joven” which literally means “young wine.” When a wine is labeled ‘Rioja’, it’s the base-model Tempranillo

Tempranillo is a popular grape that grows everywhere but its homeland is Spain. And the region, famous for Tempranillo, is Rioja. If you like the structure of the Cabernet Sauvignon and the sweetness of Grenache, then you’d love wines from Rioja. The one that I tried was 2011 Bodegas Taron 4m.

Ripe cherry and plum on the deeply pitched nose, with a peppery nuance adding lift. A general hint of toasted wood

rioja bottles

Since we are in Europe, my next stop will be Italy. I can’t think of anything else than prosecco, from Italy that I love so much.

Prosecco is Italy’s answer to refreshing, well-made sparkling wine at reasonable price. The one I tried was made with 100% organic grapes.

organic prosecco

Elegantly light, dry and well balanced wine, with hints of green fruits, elderflower and honeysuckle.

guy pouring prosecco

I’ll never forget this incredible gentleman pouring the prosecco for the guests, who had amazing sense of humor. He definitely put me in a vacation mode and for a second I thought I was in Toscana.

My number one wine this year has to be from France. And since the spring is almost here, it has to be a rosé. Maison Angelvin Riviera Rose 2014 is absolutely delicious. Slightly orange, pale color. Elegant, complex, with fruit and floral aromas, pear, peaches and white flowers. A wonderful example of a Cotes de Provence rosé wine. A must try.

rose france in ice bucket

At last, I want to introduce you the Treana Winery which made a great impression on me with their elegancy and fancy presentation at the expo. They offer both red and white wines from Central Coast. Treana 2013 Chardonnay is a new release for the Treana lineup that walks the line between an oaked Chardonnay and a stainless steel Chardonnay. My winner was Treana 2013 Red. Juicy with hints of menthol, coffee, white peppercorns, blackberry jam and bacon fat on the nose. The extended maceration allows the flavors time to develop, creating a rich mouthfeel and silky tannins. 75% Cabernet Sauvignon, 25% Syrah.

treana botte  treana

I had never attended such a large wine and food event, so my expectations as a newbie are more than satisfied. I met incredible people, who are so dedicated to the wine experience at all, they deserve everyone’s respect. I got great tips about wine and food preparation and I tried amazing wines from all over the world, all at the same spot. I can’t wait to come back again next year.

Thank you, Boston Wine Expo for this incredible opportunity.

pouring wine   toscana sangioveze bottle  batuko wines chili sign  rutherford ranch bottle

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

