Breakfast is served

Yesterday I was thinking why is so hard for me to cook or prepare breakfast. My biggest problem has always been time. I get it – nobody has enough time in the morning to prepare a nice and healthy breakfast. Most likely I’m gonna make a toast and boil couple of eggs (while brewing my coffee). I work at night (which means I’m sleeping at 8am) , so usually my breakfast is served at noon. But normal people who work in the morning still want to have a quick, healthy and delicious breakfast before heading to work. So I came up with this really quick and full of colors breakfast. All you need is literally 20 min maximum.

Avocado Egg Toast

toast side tomatoes

Ingredients:

  • 2 bread toasts
  • 1 soft avocado ( or a cup of classic guacamole )
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tbsp butter
  • 1 cup of cherry tomatoes
  • 4 slices of bacon
  • garlic, salt, black pepper

Preparation:

The only thing that I will advice you to prepare in advance is the bacon. I prefer making my bacon bites instead of buying them ready. Cook the bacon slices in a pan ( cook them till well done ), then let them dry on a paper towel and chop in small bites. I love bacon bites because I can use them in so many dishes – salads, pasta dishes etc.

bacon making bacon bites

Directions:

  1. Cut the cherry tomatoes in half, add salt, garlic and pepper and bake on a baking sheet in the oven (370 degrees F) for 7-8 min until they soften.
  2. cherry tomatoes
  3. In the meanwhile,  in a nonstick skillet set over medium-low heat melt the butter. When the butter has melted, gently pour the two eggs in the skillet. When the eggs are ready (sunny-side up),  put them on a side for a minute.
  4. It’s time to put your bread in the toaster until golden.
  5. Spread the soft avocado (or guacamole if you want to save more time) on the ready toasts and place the eggs. Sprinkle salt and fresh ground pepper.
  6.  avocado on toast
  7. Sprinkle the bacon bites on top of your toast.
  8. Don’t forget to add your cherry tomatoes on side or on top of your toast. If you want, you can add a drop of balsamic vinegar to them.
  9. Enjoy your super colorful breakfast!

avocado egg toast tomatoes closer avocado egg toast  2

 

Leave a Reply

